AOA Awards Programs

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes an individual doctor of optometry who has distinguished himself/herself within the profession for unusually significant contributions and outstanding achievements contributing to the advancement of the profession of optometry. It recognizes long-term dedication rather than any single contribution.

Apollo Award

The Apollo Award is the highest award presented to the general public by the American Optometric Association. It honors persons or organizations for distinguished service to the visual welfare of the public. The Apollo recognizes individuals who have performed a significant public service for the visual welfare of others, educational institutions and organizations, research programs, and civic and community groups.

Optometrist of the Year Award

The Optometrist of the Year Award recognizes the deserving individual doctor of optometry for performance of outstanding services on behalf of the profession and to the visual welfare of the public.

Young Optometrist of the Year

The Young Optometrist of the Year Award recognizes a doctor of optometry in active practice less than 10 years who shows remarkable leadership skills when serving his or her profession, patients, and community.

The recipients of these awards will be selected by the AOA Awards Committee, comprised of the five most recent available past presidents, and honored at Optometry's Meeting™.