Board of Trustees

A House of Delegates and an 11-member Board of Trustees govern the American Optometric Association. The House is comprised of affiliated association representatives, optometrists in Federal service, District of Columbia, and optometric students. It meets at AOA's annual Optometry's Meeting® to:

  • Conduct AOA business
  • Establish AOA policy
  • Elect officers and trustees to the Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees consists of six trustees plus these officers: President, President-Elect, Vice-President, Secretary-Treasurer, and Immediate Past President. It is empowered to conduct AOA business when the House is not in session.

AOA Officers

2013-2014

President
Mitchell T. Munson, O.D
Colorado
MTMunson@aoa.org

President-Elect
David A. Cockrell, O.D.
Oklahoma
DACockrell@aoa.org

Vice President
Steven A. Loomis, O.D.
Colorado
SALoomis@aoa.org

Secretary-Treasurer
Andrea P. Thau, O.D.
New York
APThau@aoa.org

Immediate Past President
Ronald L. Hopping, O.D., M.P.H.
Texas
RLHopping@aoa.org

AOA Trustees

2013-2014

Gregory A. Caldwell, O.D. 
Pennsylvania
GCaldwell@AOA.ORG

Barbara L. Horn, O.D.
Michigan
BLHorn@aoa.org

Robert C. Layman, O.D. 
Ohio
RLayman@AOA.ORG

Samuel D. Pierce, O.D.
Alabama
SDPierce@aoa.org

Christopher J. Quinn, O.D.
New Jersey
CJQuinn@aoa.org

William T. Reynolds, O.D.
Kentucky
WTReynolds@aoa.org