Board of Trustees

A House of Delegates and an 11-member Board of Trustees govern the American Optometric Association. The House is comprised of affiliated association representatives, optometrists in Federal service, District of Columbia, and optometric students. It meets at AOA's annual Optometry's Meeting® to:

  • Conduct AOA business
  • Establish AOA policy
  • Elect officers and trustees to the Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees consists of six trustees plus these officers: President, President-Elect, Vice-President, Secretary-Treasurer, and Immediate Past President. It is empowered to conduct AOA business when the House is not in session.

Click each member's photo to see a full biography.

AOA Officers

2016 - 2017

Steven A. Loomis, O.D., President

Andrea P. Thau, O.D.
New York

Andrea P. Thau, O.D., President-Elect

Christopher J. Quinn, O.D.
New Jersey

Christopher J. Quinn, O.D., Vice President

Vice President
Samuel D. Pierce, O.D.

Samuel D. Pierce, O.D., Secrectary-Treasurer

Barbara L. Horn, O.D.   
South Carolina

Steven A. Loomis, O.D., Immediate Past President

Immediate Past President
Steven A. Loomis, O.D.

AOA Trustees

2016 - 2017

William T. Reynolds, O.D., Trustee

William T. Reynolds, O.D.

Robert C. Layman, O.D., Trustee

Robert C. Layman, O.D.  

James P. DeVleming, O.D., Trustee

James P. DeVleming, O.D.

Ronald L Benner, O.D., Trustee

Ronald L. Benner, O.D.

Steven T. Reed, O.D., Trustee

Steven T. Reed, O.D.

Jacqueline Bowen, O.D., Trustee

Jacqueline Bowen, O.D.