Board of Trustees

A House of Delegates and an 11-member Board of Trustees govern the American Optometric Association. The House is comprised of affiliated association representatives, optometrists in Federal service, District of Columbia, and optometric students. It meets at AOA's annual Optometry's Meeting® to:

  • Conduct AOA business
  • Establish AOA policy
  • Elect officers and trustees to the Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees consists of six trustees plus these officers: President, President-Elect, Vice-President, Secretary-Treasurer, and Immediate Past President. It is empowered to conduct AOA business when the House is not in session.

Click each member's photo to see a full biography.

AOA Officers

2016 - 2017

Steven A. Loomis, O.D., President

President
Andrea P. Thau, O.D.
New York  
APThau@aoa.org

Andrea P. Thau, O.D., President-Elect

President-Elect
Christopher J. Quinn, O.D.
New Jersey  
CJQuinn@aoa.org

Christopher J. Quinn, O.D., Vice President

Vice President
Samuel D. Pierce, O.D.
Alabama
SDPierce@aoa.org

Samuel D. Pierce, O.D., Secrectary-Treasurer

Secretary-Treasurer
Barbara L. Horn, O.D.   
South Carolina
BLHorn@aoa.org

Steven A. Loomis, O.D., Immediate Past President

Immediate Past President
Steven A. Loomis, O.D.
Colorado
SALoomis@aoa.org

AOA Trustees

2016 - 2017

William T. Reynolds, O.D., Trustee

William T. Reynolds, O.D.
Kentucky
WTReynolds@aoa.org

Robert C. Layman, O.D., Trustee

Robert C. Layman, O.D.  
Ohio
RLayman@aoa.org

James P. DeVleming, O.D., Trustee

James P. DeVleming, O.D.
Washington
JDevleming@aoa.org

Ronald L Benner, O.D., Trustee

Ronald L. Benner, O.D.
Montana
RBenner@aoa.org

Steven T. Reed, O.D., Trustee

Steven T. Reed, O.D.
Mississippi
SReed@aoa.org

Jacqueline Bowen, O.D., Trustee

Jacqueline Bowen, O.D.
Colorado
JBowen@aoa.org