Board of Trustees

A House of Delegates and an 11-member Board of Trustees govern the American Optometric Association. The House is comprised of affiliated association representatives, optometrists in Federal service, District of Columbia, and optometric students. It meets at AOA's annual Optometry's Meeting® to:

  • Conduct AOA business
  • Establish AOA policy
  • Elect officers and trustees to the Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees consists of six trustees plus these officers: President, President-Elect, Vice-President, Secretary-Treasurer, and Immediate Past President. It is empowered to conduct AOA business when the House is not in session.

Click each member's photo to see a full biography.

AOA Officers

2015 - 2016

Steven A. Loomis, O.D., President

President
Steven A. Loomis, O.D.
Colorado 
SALoomis@aoa.org

Andrea P. Thau, O.D., President-Elect

President-Elect
Andrea P. Thau, O.D.
New York 
APThau@aoa.org 

Christopher J. Quinn, O.D., Vice President

Vice President
Christopher J. Quinn, O.D.
New Jersey
CJQuinn@aoa.org

Samuel D. Pierce, O.D., Secrectary-Treasurer

Secretary-Treasurer
Samuel D. Pierce, O.D.
Alabama
SDPierce@aoa.org

David A. Cockrell, O.D., Immediate Past President

Immediate Past President
David A. Cockrell, O.D.
Oklahoma
DACockrell@aoa.org

AOA Trustees

2015 - 2016

Ronald L Benner, O.D., Trustee

Ronald L. Benner, O.D.
Montana
RBenner@aoa.org

Gregory A. Caldwell, O.D., Trustee

Gregory A. Caldwell, O.D.
Pennsylvania GCaldwell@aoa.org

James P. DeVleming, O.D., Trustee

James P. DeVleming, O.D.
Washington
JDevleming@aoa.org

Barbara L. Horn, O.D., Trustee

Barbara L. Horn, O.D.   
Michigan
BLHorn@aoa.org

Robert C. Layman, O.D., Trustee

Robert C. Layman, O.D.  
Ohio
RLayman@aoa.org

William T. Reynolds, O.D., Trustee

William T. Reynolds, O.D.
Kentucky
WTReynolds@aoa.org