Board of Trustees

A House of Delegates and an 11-member Board of Trustees govern the American Optometric Association. The House is comprised of affiliated association representatives, optometrists in Federal service, District of Columbia, and optometric students. It meets at AOA's annual Optometry's Meeting® to:

  • Conduct AOA business
  • Establish AOA policy
  • Elect officers and trustees to the Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees consists of six trustees plus these officers: President, President-Elect, Vice-President, Secretary-Treasurer, and Immediate Past President. It is empowered to conduct AOA business when the House is not in session.

Click each member's photo to see a full biography.

AOA Officers

2020-2021

William T. Reynolds, O.D.

President
William T. Reynolds, O.D.
Kentucky
WReynolds@aoa.org

Robert C. Layman, O.D.

President-Elect
Robert C. Layman, O.D.
Ohio  
RLayman@aoa.org

James P. DeVleming, O.D.

Vice President
James P. DeVleming, O.D.
Washington
JDeVleming@aoa.org

Ronald L. Benner, O.D.

Secretary-Treasurer
Ronald L. Benner, O.D.
Montana
RBenner@aoa.org

Barbara L. Horn, O.D.

Immediate Past President
Barbara L. Horn, O.D.
South Carolina
BLHorn@aoa.org

AOA Trustees

2020-2021

Steven T. Reed, O.D.

Steven T. Reed, O.D.
Mississippi
SReed@aoa.org

Jacqueline Bowen, O.D.

Jacqueline Bowen, O.D.
Colorado
JBowen@aoa.org

Lori L. Grover, O.D., Ph.D.

Lori L. Grover, O.D., Ph.D.
Illinois
LGrover@aoa.org

Teri K. Geist, O.D.

Teri K. Geist, O.D.
Nebraska
TGeist@aoa.org

Terri A. Gossard, O.D., M.S.

Terri A. Gossard, O.D., M.S.
Ohio
TGossard@aoa.org

Dr. Curtis Ono, O.D.

Curtis A. Ono, O.D.
Washington
Cono@aoa.org