Citing personal reasons, James P. DeVleming, O.D., has resigned as AOA president. After being informed, the AOA Board of Trustees met and designated Robert C. Layman, O.D., of Ohio (AOA president 2021-22) to serve as president. In fulfillment of a bylaws requirement related to positional vacancies on the board, William T. Reynolds, O.D., of Kentucky, past president of the AOA (2021-22) and chair of the Advocacy Executive Committee, will serve as trustee until the scheduled elections are held next June during Optometry's Meeting® 2023 in Washington, D.C.   

Related News

New noteworthy optometry codes

Changes in coding and reimbursements worth knowing. Meanwhile, with the clock winding down on 2024, the AOA continues to press for Congress to act on reforms that would give doctors of optometry an annual, permanent inflationary Medicare payment tied to the Medicare Economic Index.

Setting the tone for Optometry’s Meeting® in Music City

🔊 Hear why colleagues say the annual AOA and AOSA member meeting is the place to be this June 19-22, 2024, and learn how you can get priority access to registration before everyone else this January.

3 events in 2023 that show why giving to InfantSEE® is vital

Check out how InfantSEE® used donations in 2023 and consider making an end-of-year gift to support the program in 2024 and beyond.