AOA Awards and Recognition

Every year, the American Optometric Association (AOA) honors individual doctors of optometry, paraoptometric staff, students, affiliates and other partners for contributions to the profession and advancing the eye health and vision care of the public.

Annual Awards presented at Optometry’s Meeting:

The National Optometry Hall of Fame Awards

Since 1998, the National Optometry Hall of Fame has recognized and honored optometrists who are luminaries of the profession — those who have made significant and long-lasting contributions to the optometric profession. Originally created by the Ohio Optometric Association, the National Optometry Hall of Fame is currently administered by the AOA.

AOA Excellence Awards

The Excellence Awards are the AOA’s most prestigious awards that recognize outstanding member doctors and partners for their exceptional contributions, unwavering dedication and distinguished achievements for the profession and the visual welfare of the public. The Excellence Awards include Optometric Educator of the Year, Distinguished Service, Optometrist of the Year and Young Optometrist of the Year, and the Apollo award.

AOA President’s Awards

Each year, the AOA President recognizes doctors and partners who stand out for their exceptional contributions, unwavering dedication and outstanding achievements for the profession with the distinguished President’s Award. These are individuals who stand up, bring the profession together and make sure we are all advancing optometry.

Dr. W. David Sullins, Jr. InfantSEE Award

The Dr. W. David Sullins, Jr. InfantSEE Award recognizes an individual doctor of optometry who has made significant contributions to optometry or their community for outstanding public service involving the InfantSEE program.

Paraoptometric Awards

The Paraoptometric Awards recognize optometric staff members for “outstanding and worthwhile contributions to both the profession and local community.” The awards include Paraoptometric of the Year, Paraoptometric Community Service Award and the Paraoptometric Lifetime Achievement Award.

Dr. Jerry P. Davidoff  Vision Care Award

The Dr. Jerry P. Davidoff Vision Care Award is given annually to a doctor of optometry who is active in a clinical vision rehabilitation practice setting; has committed to giving back to optometry through the education of other practitioners; and has demonstrated a long-standing contribution and shared knowledge with fellow practitioners for the betterment of vision rehabilitation eye care.
Davidoff  Vision Care Award Nomination Form

AOA Advocacy Awards

The AOA Advocacy Awards recognize individuals or affiliate(s) for their remarkable leadership and commitment to advocacy on behalf of the profession. These include AOA State Advocacy Award, AOA Federal Advocacy Award, AOA Third Party Advocacy Award, and AOA Media Advocacy Award.

CLCS Awards

The Contact Lens & Cornea Section (CLCS) is a nationally recognized segment of the AOA. Members of CLCS include eye care professionals and optometry students who are dedicated to furthering their understanding in the field of contact lenses, cornea, diagnosis and treatment of anterior segment disease, refractive surgery, and related technologies. The group recognizes individuals during Optometry’s Meeting for the CLCS Achievement Award, Dr. Donald R. Korb Award, Dr. Rodger Kame Award, Luminary Award for Distinguished Practice, and Dr. "Uncle Frank" Fontana Award.

Related News

'All the advocacy firepower’ called up at AOA on Capitol Hill

Over 500 AOA doctors and optometry students championed the profession’s priority issues in Washington, D.C., including a growing Congressional focus on vision plan abuses.

Build your practice and protect the planet

Every day is Earth Day at these optometric practices. Considerations for an environmentally friendly practice.

Intentional leadership

The AOA’s 2023 Young Optometrist of the Year is a leader—and she has been intentional in cultivating those skills. Uncover her philosophy on leadership.