Leland (Lee) Carr III, O.D., Distinguished Service Award

Leland Carr III accepts awardLee Carr III, O.D., of Oklahoma, is the winner of the 2015 AOA Distinguished Service Award, which recognizes an individual doctor of optometry for his or her unusually significant contributions to the profession.

Dr. Carr graduated from Michigan College of Optometry at Ferris State University. Immediately following graduation, Dr. Carr was employed by Dow Corning Ophthalmics, and subsequently established a solo private practice in East Lansing, Michigan.

Dr. Carr's academic career began in 1982 when he began working as a part-time clinical faculty member at Ferris State. In 1984, he accepted a full-time appointment as an assistant professor at Northeastern State University Oklahoma's College of Optometry (NSUOCO) in Tahlequah, Oklahoma. At NSUOCO, Dr. Carr became director of Residencies, director of Clinical Programs and advanced to associate professor with tenure in 1988.  He was named full professor in 1992. 

In July 1993, Dr. Carr joined the faculty at Pacific University, where was appointed dean in 1997. Dr. Carr was named Oregon Optometrist of the Year in 2000 and received the Oregon Optometric Physicians Association Award of Special Merit in 2001.

From 2003 to 2004, Dr. Carr served as president of the Association of Schools and Colleges of Optometry.

In 2006, Dr. Carr returned to NSUOCO and is currently Assistant Dean and Professor of Optometry at NSU in Tahlequah, Muskogee, and Broken Arrow, Oklahoma.

Dr. Carr served as president of the Oklahoma Association of Optometric Physicians (OAOP) from 2012 to 2013. He was inducted into the OAOP Hall of Fame, and in 2014 received the OAOP Award for Service.

Return to aoa.org/news