Optometry Hall of Fame

2014 National Optometry Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

The American Optometric Association (AOA) and Optometry Cares®—The AOA Foundation congratulate three AOA member doctors of optometry who have been selected for the prestigious National Optometry Hall of Fame. Since 1998, the National Optometry Hall of Fame has recognized and honored optometrists who have made significant and long-lasting contributions to the optometric profession.

The 2014 inductees are:

  • Arol R. Augsburger, O.D., of Chicago, Ill. Dr. Augsburger is president and professor of optometry at the Illinois College of Optometry. Dr. Augsburger was named Optometrist of the Year by the AOA in 1986 and received a Distinguished Service Award in 2008. He was also named Keyperson of the Year in 2005 by the Illinois Optometric Association and Optometrist of the Year in Ohio (1985), Alabama (2000), and Illinois (2007).

  • Ron Fair, O.D., of Brighton, Colo. Dr. Fair served as president of the American Optometric Association (1976), the Colorado Optometric Association (1968), and the National Academies of Practice (1996-1999). He received a Distinguished Service Award in 2000 and was named the Colorado Optometric Association's Optometrist of the Year in 1970. He has proudly served patients in the community of Brighton for more than 50 years.

  • Karla Zadnik, O.D., Ph.D. of Worthington, Ohio. Dr. Zadnik is associate dean of The Ohio State University College of Optometry and Glenn A. Fry Professor in Optometry and Physiological Optics. She is immediate past president of the American Academy of Optometry. She served the AOA's Contact Lens and Cornea Section and received its Dr. Donald R. Korb Award for Excellence in 2009. She also received the Young Optometrist of the Year Award in 1989 from the California Optometric Association and Distinguished Scholar Award (2010) from The Ohio State University. 

The inductees will be honored at a ceremony and reception on Thursday, June 26, at 7 p.m. as part of Optometry's Meeting®, being held June 25-29, at the Pennsylvania Convention Center in Philadelphia, Pa. The National Optometry Hall of Fame is administered by Optometry CaresThe AOA Foundation. For more information visit the Optometry Cares—The AOA Foundation website at www.aoafoundation.org

April 25, 2014

comments powered by Disqus