AOA Foundation awards students prestigious scholarships

AOA Foundation awards students prestigious scholarships

The Optometry Cares®—The AOA Foundation scholarship winners, from left: Lara Chan, Sarah Kuipers, Kyle Stott, Leanne Roach and Amy Puerto.

Each scholarship encourages students' continued efforts to make a difference in their community and profession.

Ensuring today's students have every opportunity to become tomorrow's leaders, Optometry Cares®—The AOA Foundation awarded scholarships to five high-achieving optometry students.

Each scholarship requires students to demonstrate their commitment to optometry and encourages their continued efforts to make a difference in their community and profession. Winners of the 2015 scholarships include:

InfantSEE® Scholarship
Sarah Kuipers of Indiana University School of Optometry was named the first-place winner, receiving a $5,000 scholarship, while Kyle Stott of Southern College of Optometry was awarded second place with a $2,500 scholarship.

To be considered for the InfantSEE® Scholarship—sponsored by Vision West, Inc.—third-year students must express a desire to participate in the InfantSEE program by writing an essay that highlights their commitment to children's vision.

Dr. Seymour Galina Scholarship
Leanne Roach, a third-year student of the University of Houston College of Optometry, was awarded the Dr. Seymour Galina Scholarship with a $2,500 scholarship.

Applicants for this scholarship are required to write an essay describing qualities they have developed through financial planning or work experience during or before optometry school that is most applicable to their professional practice.

Dr. Pat & Patrick Cummings Scholarship
Amy Puerto, a fourth-year student of Southern College of Optometry, received the Dr. Pat & Patrick Cummings Scholarship of $5,000.

Established through Optometry Cares in tribute to the father and son who passed away in separate tragic accidents, the Dr. Pat & Patrick Cummings Memorial Fund is generously funded by numerous donors, including contributions from Johnson & Johnson Vision Care. This scholarship requires applicants write an essay about their goals in public health and leadership roles in optometry.

Bernard Maitenaz Scholarship
Laura Chan, a third-year student of New England College of Optometry, is the first recipient of the new Bernard Maitenaz Scholarship of $10,000. Click here to see Chan's video about the impact of vision.

Introduced in 2014, the Bernard Maitenaz Scholarship, sponsored by Essilor, honors the inventor of the Varilux lens and an authority in optical science and engineering. Applicants must demonstrate leadership and participation in school and civic activities, honors and work experience.

Learn more about endowment and scholarship opportunities, or make a donation to support these scholarships and other foundation programs by clicking here.

January 13, 2015

comments powered by Disqus