AOA Foundation awards students prestigious scholarships

AOA Foundation awards students prestigious scholarships

The Optometry Cares®—The AOA Foundation scholarship winners, from left: Shelby Nicole Baugh Bruner,  Kalie McCartin, Clay Connolly, Jeremy Chartash and Kim Forgione.

Ensuring today's students have every opportunity to become tomorrow's leaders, Optometry Cares®—The AOA Foundation awarded scholarships to five outstanding optometry students.

Each scholarship requires students to demonstrate their commitment to optometry and encourages their continued efforts to make a difference in their community and profession. Winners of the 2016 scholarships include:

InfantSEE® Scholarship
Shelby Nicole Baugh Bruner of University of Missouri-St. Louis College of Optometry has been named the first place winner, receiving a $5,000 scholarship, and Kalie McCartin of Salus University Pennsylvania College of Optometry has been awarded second place with a $2,500 scholarship. Click here to watch the winning videos.

To be considered for the InfantSEE® Scholarship—sponsored by Vision West Inc.—third-year students must express a desire to participate in the InfantSEE program by writing an essay that highlights their commitment to children's vision.

Dr. Seymour Galina Scholarship
Clay Connolly, a third-year student of the Michigan College of Optometry at Ferris State University, is the recipient of the $2,500 Dr. Seymour Galina Grant.

Applicants for this scholarship are required to write an essay describing qualities they have developed through financial planning or work experience during or before optometry school that is most applicable to their professional practice.

Dr. Pat & Patrick Cummings Scholarship
Jeremy Chartash, a fourth-year student from Nova Southeastern University, is the recipient of the $5,000 Dr. Pat & Patrick Cummings Scholarship.

Established through Optometry Cares in tribute to the father and son who passed away in separate tragic accidents, the Dr. Pat & Patrick Cummings Memorial Fund is generously funded by numerous donors, including contributions from Johnson & Johnson Vision Care. This scholarship requires applicants write an essay about their goals in public health and leadership roles in optometry.

Bernard Maitenaz Scholarship
Kim Forgione, a third-year student of Pacific University is the recipient of the $10,000 Bernard Maitenaz Scholarship, which was created and introduced in 2014. Click here to see the winning video about the impact of vision.

Introduced in 2014, the Bernard Maitenaz Scholarship, sponsored by Essilor, honors the inventor of the Varilux lens and an authority in optical science and engineering. Applicants must demonstrate leadership and participation in school and civic activities, honors and work experience.

Learn more about endowment and scholarship opportunities, or make a donation to support these scholarships and other foundation programs by clicking here.

February 8, 2016

comments powered by Disqus