Hall of Fame nominations open for 2016

Hall of Fame nominations open for 2016

2015 National Optometry Hall of Fame inductees (from left) Paul C. Ajamian, O.D., Earl L. Smith III, O.D., Ph.D., and Kenji Hamada, O.D., with Optometry Cares®-The AOA Foundation President T. Joel Byars, O.D.

Nominations for the 2016 National Optometry Hall of Fame are now being accepted online with inductees to be honored at Optometry's Meeting® 2016, June 29-July 3, in Boston, Massachusetts. The deadline for online submissions is Jan. 15, 2016.

Administered by Optometry Cares®—The AOA Foundation, the National Optometry Hall of Fame has recognized outstanding optometrists who have made long-lasting contributions to the profession since 1998.

Submit an online nomination form by Jan. 15, 2016.

Who's eligible for nomination?
Optometrists may be nominated for one of two categories-either Academia or Private Practice/Federal Service. Nominees must meet specific criteria for either category, but general eligibility requirements state nominees must:

  • Have more than 30 years' service in the profession

  • Be involved in optometric clinical care, private practice, federal service, academia, research or industry

  • Have records of dedicated service and lifetime achievements or contributions

Click here to access the online nomination forms. National Optometry Hall of Fame nominations are valid for consideration for four consecutive years. All nominees should be prepared to provide these further materials for consideration:

  • Nominee's curriculum vitae

  • Minimum of two letters of support

  • Photo of nominee if available (current headshot preferred)

Contact the AOA Foundation at 314.983.4200 or send an email to Foundation@aoa.org if you have questions about the nomination process.

November 9, 2015

comments powered by Disqus