Meet AOA’s Board of Trustees

AOA's 2013-14 Board of Trustees are ready to act on behalf of members and the profession of optometry.

The new slate of trustees, sworn into office at the 2013 Optometry's Meeting®, includes:

Mitchell T. Munson, O.D., President (pictured front row, center)
Dr. Munson, of Highlands Ranch, Colo., was first appointed to the AOA Board of Trustees in 2006. He previously served as vice president and liaison trustee to the Third Party Center Executive Committee.

David A. Cockrell, O.D., President-Elect (pictured front row, second from left)
Dr. Cockrell, of Stillwater, Okla., has served on the Legislative Action Response Committee and is the liaison trustee to the Affiliate Relations and Membership Group, Faculty Relations, Membership Development and Student and New Graduate committees.

Steven A. Loomis, O.D., Vice President (pictured front row, second from right)
Dr. Loomis, of Roxborough Park, Colo., has served as secretary-treasurer and is a past chair of the AOA State Government Relations Center (SGRC), Oversight Board, AOA Health Care Legislative Committee (HCLC) and the Resolutions and the Legal Defense Fund Oversight committees.

Andrea P. Thau, O.D., Secretary-Treasurer (pictured front row, far right)
Dr. Thau, of New York, has served as a member of the Finance Committee for the past two years and was a founding member of the AOA InfantSEE® Committee. She is a past chair of the Credentials Committee and served on the AOA Pediatrics and Binocular Vision Committee, the first Faculty Relations Committee and the Bylaws Project team.

Robert C. Layman, O.D., Trustee (pictured back row, third from right)
Dr. Layman, of Toledo, Ohio, currently serves on the AOA Membership Development Committee. He served as moderator for President's Council from 2001-2011. Dr. Layman was honored with the AOA Optometrist of the Year award in 2006. 

Gregory A. Caldwell, O.D., Trustee (pictured back row, far left)
Dr. Caldwell, of Lilly, Pa., serves on the AOA Third Party Center's Executive Committee. He served on the AOA's Accountable Care Organization and Patient Centered Medical Home Committee, Patient Access for Optometry Committee and Payers and Purchasers Committee.

Ronald L. Hopping, O.D., MPH, Past President (pictured front row, far left)
Dr. Hopping, of Houston, Texas, was first elected to the board in 2005 and served as president for the 2012-13 program year. Dr. Hopping's father, Richard Hopping, O.D., served as president of the AOA from 1971-72.

The other trustees of the AOA continuing to serve are Barbara L. Horn, O.D. (pictured back row, second from right), Christopher J. Quinn, O.D. (pictured back row, far right), Samuel D. Pierce, O.D. (pictured back row, second from left), and William T. Reynolds, O.D. (pictured back row, third from left).

July 31, 2013

comments powered by Disqus