Putting the spotlight on optometry’s stars

July 1, 2024
When the AOA and AOSA gathered for Optometry’s Meeting® 2024, the profession set aside time to recognize the outstanding contributions of its members.
Optometry's Meeting Awards Ceremony

Exceptional achievements were honored at Optometry’s Meeting® 2024 in Nashville, Tennessee, June 19-22. 

The honorees—doctors of optometry, AOA affiliates, paraoptometrics and optometry students—were variously recognized for their unwavering dedication; service with distinction in their practices, communities and profession; leadership in educating and mentoring next-gen doctors of optometry; and a shared passion for advancing the profession.  

Watch awards highlights

The AOA congratulates the following awardees: 

Dr. W. David Sullins, Jr., InfantSEE® Award 

Deborah Bernay, O.D. 

National Hall of Fame Inductees 

Since 1998, the National Optometry Hall of Fame, administered by The AOA Foundation, has recognized and honored doctors of optometry who are luminaries of the profession and have imparted long-lasting contributions to optometry. Attendees gathered during the AOA Awards and National Optometry Hall of Fame ceremony to recognize the Class of 2024: 

Joe Ellis, O.D. Watch Dr. Ellis' video 

Siret Jaanus, M.S., Ph.D. Watch Dr. Jaanus' video 

Optometrist of the Year 

Matthew Jones, O.D. Watch Dr. Jones’ award video. 

Young Optometrist of the Year 

Kelly Deering, O.D. Watch Dr. Deering’s award video.  

AOA Distinguished Service Award 

Andrew Cook, O.D. Watch Dr. Cook’s video. 

Optometric Educator of the Year 

Jeffrey Walline, O.D., Ph.D. Watch Dr. Walline’s video. 

Student of the Year 

Maggie Dunn. Watch Dunn’s award video. 

Paraoptometric of the Year 

Savanna Johnson, CPOT. Watch Johnson’s award video. 

Paraoptometric Community Service Award 

Shelby Miller, CPO 

Paraoptometric Lifetime Achievement Award 

Sally Greeley, CPOT 

President’s Awards  

South Dakota Optometric Society 

David Goss, O.D. 

Wayne Zahka, O.D. 

Stacey Meier, O.D. 

AOA Advocacy Awards 

Dori Carlson, O.D. (federal advocacy) 

Georgia Optometric Association (state advocacy) 

Illinois Optometric Association (state advocacy) 

Nevada Optometric Association (state advocacy) 

Oklahoma Association of Optometric Physicians (state advocacy) 

Texas Optometric Association (state advocacy)  

Rebecca Wartman, O.D. (payer advocacy) 

Alan Glazier, O.D., (media advocacy) 

Karl Citek, O.D. (media advocacy) 

Shannon Steinhauser, O.D. (media advocacy) 

“The Today Show” (media advocacy 

Dr. Jerry P. Davidoff Vision Care Award 

Joan Stelmack, O.D., MPH 

AOSA Optometry Student Bowl™ XXXllI crowns champion 

Tyson Montgomery of The Ohio State University College of Optometry hoisted the winner’s trophy at the AOSA Optometry Student Bowl™ XXXIIl, powered by EssilorLuxottica. Second place went to Karli Clark of the Illinois College of Optometry and third to Abbey Kuborn from the Indiana University School of Optometry. Michigan College of Optometry at Ferris State University won the Spirit Award. 

5K Run winners 

Runners laced up their shoes for the AOA Foundation 5K Run on June 22 at the Shelby Bottoms Greenway in downtown Nashville, supported by Abbvie, Tarsus and the Health Care Alliance for Patient Safety. This year’s top 5K female finishers were Vanessa Grichine, O.D., (overall); Charlotte Watt; Kimsean Tieu; Beth Salonia, O.D.; Becky Stephens; and Hilary Hawthorne, O.D. This year’s top 5K male finishers were Nathan Morrow, O.D. (overall); Ben McCurdy; Alex Foree; Jeff Reising, O.D.; Andrew Adamich, O.D.; and Gilbert Ho. 

The generous support of the AOA's industry partners makes it possible to honor its outstanding members. 

Related News

AOA members help Olympians gain an edge

The countdown to the Olympic Games in Paris is on. Discover how AOA member optometrists have helped elite athletes prepare.

‘Advocacy is our history and our future’

Why—and how—to be an advocate for optometry.

Tennessee Welcomes You to Optometry’s Meeting®

Tennessee Association of Optometric Physicians President Laura Sechler, O.D., shares how the event drives growth and what to expect in Music City.