Nominate staff for prestigious paraoptometric awards

(Past AOA President Ron Hopping, O.D., MPH, presents Amy Godeaux, CPOT, with the 2013 Paraoptometric of the Year Award.)

For every AOA member doctor, there are about four paraoptometric staff members who support a practice, according to AOA data.

To recognize the contributions of these crucial staff members, nominate them for the following paraoptometric awards.

2014 Community Service Award

This award goes to a paraoptometric who demonstrates a commitment to improving his or her community and a dedication to the profession. Previous recipients have been active in service organizations such as Lion's Club, American Cancer Society, Special Olympics Opening Eyes, InfantSEE® and VISION USA.

Individuals may nominate themselves for this award or may be nominated by other professionals.

To make a nomination:

The award winner will receive a plaque of recognition, a $100 personal cash award and a $100 award to his or her charity of choice during the Paraoptometric Resource Center's Awards Reception Friday, June 27, 2014, at Optometry's Meeting®.

Paraoptometric of the Year (POY) Award

The AOA annually recognizes an optometric assistant or technician who has made worthwhile contributions to the profession of optometry, paraoptometry and the general public.

State Paraoptometric of the Year award winners are eligible for the national nomination. Nominees must be members of the AOA Paraoptometric Section to be eligible.

To make a nomination:

  • Contact the AOA's Paraoptometric Resource Center at 800-365-2219, ext. 4108, or email for more information and a nomination form.
  • Submit your nomination before Feb. 1, 2014.

The POY award will be presented Friday, June 27, 2014, during Optometry's Meeting® in Philadelphia. The winner will be featured in a video and will receive a plaque, round-trip airfare to Optometry's Meeting®, three nights' lodging at the headquarters hotel and $500 to help defray travel expenses.

December 26, 2013

comments powered by Disqus