Steven T. Reed, O.D.

Steven T. Reed, O.D.Mississippi
Steven T. Reed, O.D., was elected to the American Optometric Association (AOA) Board of Trustees at the 119th Annual AOA Congress & 46th Annual AOSA Conference: Optometry's Meeting® in July 2016.

As a member of the AOA Board, Dr. Reed serves as liaison to the Faculty and Student Membership Liaisons Committee, State Government Relations Committee, the Third Party Center Executive Committee and is a North American representative to the World Council of Optometry. He also serves as the Board liaison to the state affiliates of Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Oklahoma, Texas; and the University of Houston College of Optometry, Northeastern State University of Oklahoma's College of Optometry, University of Incarnate Word's Rosenberg School of Optometry, and University of Missouri St. Louis's College of Optometry.  Dr. Reed's past board work includes serving as liaison to the Faculty & Student Membership Liaisons, Faculty Resource Committee, Membership Development Committee, Contact Lens and Cornea Section, Health Policy Institute, Association of Regulatory Boards of Optometry, and Volunteer Optometric Services to Humanity.

Previously, Dr. Reed served on the AOA Communications/Public Affairs Committee. He also served as the AOA National Keyperson Coordinator for Mississippi.

Dr. Reed is a past president of the Mississippi Optometric Association (MOA) and Southwest Optometric Society. He served as chair of the MOA Long Range Planning Committee, as well as past chair of the Optometry for Progress PAC, the MOA Legislative, Assistance to Graduates and Undergraduates, and Nominations committees. He was also chair of the Board of Trustees at Southern College of Optometry, and Mississippi's Trustee for SECO International.

A graduate of Southern College of Optometry, Dr. Reed was the 2010 and 2016 recipient of the MOA James P. Brownlee Optometrist of the Year Award.

Dr. Reed owns and operates a private practice clinic in Magee, Collins and Prentiss Mississippi, and is president and co-owner of a practice in Clinton, Mississippi, as well as vice president and co-owner of a practice in Forest, Mississippi.

Return to Board of Trustees page.