Gilbert E. Pierce, O.D., Ph.D., F.A.A.O.

Optometric Educator of the Year Award

Gilbert E. Pierce

Gilbert E. Pierce, O.D., of Ohio, is the 2014 Optometric Educator of the Year. As an educator, he serves as a mentor for younger optometrists and students and is known for leading by example in showing them how to support their professional associations to the best of their ability.  

A 1989 graduate of The Ohio State University College of Optometry, Dr. Pierce serves his alma mater as a Professor of Clinical Optometry. He teaches courses in clinical techniques and ocular neurology, and also provides clinic instruction in the college's Primary Vision Care Service.  

Dr. Pierce served as president of the Ohio Optometric Association (OOA) and regularly visited with Ohio state legislators on behalf of OOA. He also has led The Ohio State Student Delegation at the annual AOA Legislative Conference in Washington, D.C.

In service to the AOA, Dr. Pierce has volunteered for the AOA's Publications and Education Committee and Faculty Relations Committee. Dr. Pierce serves as a consultant to the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education and is chair of the Ohio Public Health Association Vision Section.  

Dr. Pierce is a member of the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology; faculty advisor and vice president of the alumni board of the Epsilon Psi Epsilon professional fraternity; and faculty advisor to The Ohio State University College of Optometry Student Council.  

With a heart for serving the community, Dr. Pierce volunteers for the in-school clinics provided by the Ohio Optometric Foundation (OOF) and is a presenter of the OOA's Realeyes Classroom Initiative, an education program that brings volunteer eye doctors into the classroom to give a 45-minute presentation about eye health and safety.  

Dr. Pierce has received several prestigious honors for his teaching, including the American Optometric Student Association Faculty Member of the Year at The Ohio State University College of Optometry, and the Herbert G. Mote Distinguished Faculty Award in 1994, 2002 and 2007.